Adolphe Sax
Vous êtes ici :  Competition
Adolphe Sax International Competition  

 Finale 7CIAS©AIAS-Philippe Dehuit 

The Adolphe Sax International Competition in brief...

The Adolphe Sax International Competition is open to saxophonists of a high standard, of every nationality, who have not yet reached the age of 31 when the final of the competition takes place. Musically, it is overseen by a Musical Committee, chaired by Alain Crepin, composer and Saxophone Professor at the Royal Brussels Conservatory, and made up of saxophone teachers from Belgium's Royal Conservatories and Academies.

The competition is made up of:

- a video-based pre-selection;

- a first round lasting a maximum of 20 minutes per candidate;

- a semi-final, lasting a maximum of 40 minutes per candidate, open to the 18 candidates ranked highest in the first round;

- a final, lasting a maximum of 40 minutes per candidate, open to the 6 candidates ranked highest in the semi-final.

All kinds of saxophones are accepted for works of the candidates' own choice, but only the alto may be used for the compulsory works. In the first round and the semi-final, candidates are accompanied on the piano; in the final they are accompanied by an orchestra.

 The compulsory works in the finals of previous editions, commissioned by the International Adolphe Sax Association, were:

- Caprices de Saxicare by Henri Pousseur (1994),

- Ostinati by Frédéric Devreese (1998),

- Pathetic Story by Frederik van Rossum (2002),

- Kotekan by Piet Swerts (2006),

- Rhapsody for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra by André Waignein (2010),

- Images by Jan Van der Roost (2014),

- Noema by Claude Ledoux (2019).


For the first round and for the semi-final, the Competition Organising Team makes official pianist accompanists available to candidates who wish to avail of them.

The finalists are accompanied by a chamber orchestra.

The Jury is made up of musical personalities representing different schools around the world.

The Jury is assisted by a Secretary General. An Arbitration Committee, chaired by a magistrate and made up of saxophonists, ensures that the Competition's rules are correctly applied.



1st Adolphe Sax International Competition – 1994: Vincent DAVID (France)

2nd Adolphe Sax International Competition – 1998: Alexandre DOISY (France)

3rd Adolphe Sax International Competition – 2002: Hiroshi HARA (Japan)

4th Adolphe Sax International Competition – 2006: Sergey KOLESOV (Russia)

5th Adolphe Sax International Competition – 2010: Simon DIRICQ (Belgium)

6th Adolphe Sax International Competition – 2014: Nikita ZIMIN (Russia)

7th Adolphe Sax International Competition – 2019: Saito KENTA (Japan)


Learn more...

On the occasion of the 7th Adolphe Sax International Competition, the City of Dinant has published a special edition of its magazine Côté Ville, Côté Champs, with interviews of Alain Crepin, Claude Delangle, Nobuya Sugawa, Asya Fateyeva,... but also stories about host families, volunteers, the new bandstand and many more. Download the PDF file (FR) here




Dinant - 2019


1st Laureate 2nd Laureate 3rd Laureate
Japan Japan France
4th Laureate
5th Laureate 6th Laureate
France France Japan

Download the competition program


Our corporate partners

Partenaires concours sax

Follow the competition online: